My Favorite Battle Pets (Updated August 2013)

I did one of these posts way back when I was writing regularly. Since then, I’ve found other pets I’d rather use. So here’s a few more of my favorites. Keep in mind, I generally won’t do a lot of PvP battles, so my favorite pets are better for leveling other pets.

Amber Moth

Amber Moth – A wild pet that’s capturable in Dread Wastes and Townlong Steppes, I love this little guy because I use him when I’m grinding levels 20-25. Once I’ve finished all the high level tamers that I can use to power level and I start leveling through wild pet battles, I go to the lower left part of The Vale of Eternal Blossoms, near the elite battle pet No-No. Around him is a bunch of Golden Civets and Golden Civet Kittens.  The add-on pets in these battles will be aquatic and flying pets so Amber Moth’s abilities are strong for these fights. There are enough of these wild pets in this area for them to start respawning before you’ve battled everything. Also, with the right rotation (Cocoon Strike -> Moth Dust -> Alpha Strike -> Alpha Strike, repeat) he should always have enough health to last you through the 8 minute cooldown of your Revive Battle Pet spell. You’re probably thinking there are a bunch of pets with the same abilities as the Amber Moth, why is this one your favorite? It’s because it’s easy to locate in my Pet Journal, he’s second from the top among my level 25s. I still have not named my Amber Moth, but I’m open to suggestions.

Gahz’rooki – Purchasable from the Darkspear Rebellion Quartermaster, Gahz’rooki is another of my more used pets. I think he’s great for the daily tamer quest against Grand Master Antari in Shadowmoon Valley. Using all three of his Aquatic abilities, it’s pretty easy to kill the final two pets (Jadefire and Netherbite) in this fight. I’ve named him Tre, because of his three heads.

Smolderweb Hatchling – Previously a reward from a quest, now a drop off Mother Smolderweb in Lower Blackrock Spire, Smolderweb Hatchling is my favorite of the spiders. Again, simply for his attacks that are strong against critters and his ability to make it through a battle with limited health lost. He’s also good at surviving the Beast of Fable fights against critters. I named him Spyder, a name I usually use on my hunter pet spiders.

Swamp Croaker

Swamp Croaker – I recently leveled one of these up to 25 and I love it. He’s a wild pet from the Isle of Thunder and great when facing Ludia Accoste, the Tamer in Deadwind Pass. If you pick Tongue Lash, Swarm of Flies and Frog Kiss, he’ll lead you through at least the first two pets and possibly even all three. I have not named him yet, but I am open to suggestions.

Leave a Reply

