Leveling on a PvP Realm

I’m doing something I’ve never really tried before, I’m leveling on a PvP realm.  I haven’t encountered any problems as of yet, because I’m only level 18, but I’m looking forward to trying it out.  I chose an Undead Mage on Twisting Neather, because he was already at level 16 from a couple years ago when one of my RL friends was playing.  This friend stopped playing before BC even came out so I kind of just abandoned that character.

This is what my pre-Cataclysm play has come to, I’m leveling characters that I gave up on a long time ago.  I also started playing as a Troll Hunter from my original server, I’ve gotten like 7-8 levels on him in the past week and a half.  I’m trying to keep them rested, so I’ve got a nice rotation going.  Between my 70 Priest and these other too, I should be able to stay that way until December 7th.  I’ve also got a 20sish Druid on a 4th server that I can go to if I need to.

3 Responses to “Leveling on a PvP Realm”

  1. I’ve only played on PvP realms so far and I think that in general, it should be more fun than on a PvE realm. Why? It makes the Alliance vs. Horde conflict more real.

    When I first leveled through Ashenvale on my hunter, I spotted my first horde character. It was an orc riding across the roads, heading who knows where. But I had humanoid tracking enabled and spotted him way before he spotted me, so I quickly hid in the bushes and saw him pass me by.
    Moments later he came back the same way and I had to hide again, I got more and more cautious because there were more hordies travelling across the road, all with their level marked as “??”. Eventually, after several high level hordies had passed by came a low-level straggler. He was at about my own level so I decided to take a chance and stepped out of my hiding place and attacked him.

    Needless to say I lost the battle (being a noob and all that), but it was a fun experience nonetheless. 🙂

    Cheers,
    Gav

    • I’m just curious how bad it is. On a PvE realm, if you see someone flagged it means they attacked someone so you always go after them. On a PvP realm everyone will always been flagged so it’s not like you have to avenge an ally.

      I’m sure there will be those level 80 jerks who just ride around ganking everyone, but I really didn’t plan on killing anyone unless they attacked first.

      • Yeah there are people like that, they tend to concentrate on certain zones though. Stranglethorn Vale and Hillsbrad Foothills are the worst places to go when leveling on a PvP realm, you will get ganked, many, many times.

        Cheers,
        Gav

Leave a Reply

